On Strategies and Goals

I’ve always thought that the best way to make something happen is to write it down. There’s something about that piece of paper or words tapped out on the screen that call back to you when your resolve softens.

After a busy early summer and a bit of a break from writing, I’m back on track and working on a second novel. While I’m at it, I’m also looking at other areas I could improve.

The first goal is simple and I’m starting right now. I would like to give this blog more love. It can be hard when I spend a lot of time writing fictional words to devote time here, but really a bit less time on Absolute Write and Twitter is all it will take.

Which brings us straight to time. I want to carve out more time for the creative and productive parts of my life. With  the Little Bear around, there’s not much chance of actually spending more time, but rather using the time I have more effectively. With that in mind, I plan on enforcing an internet self ban. I want to  only use the internet on Sundays apart from the odd email check and replying to comments here on the blog.

My hope is to post on the blog here at least once a week.

The last two are the hardest goals to achieve. I would like to write 5000 words of fiction a week, and draft and polish a short story once a month. Not only would this keep my novel chugging along, but if I could get my fiction into some of the SFF (science fiction/fantasy) markets, it would be great for getting my name out there.

By many writer’s standards these aren’t the most lofty goals. 1000 words a day during the week, bonus if something gets done on the weekend.  I feel like keeping them achievable will help them seem less daunting and hopefully hold me through the long haul.

How about you? I know I don’t have very many readers, but I would love to hear your goals, whether they have to do with writing or not.

No? Then I’ll hopefully see you in a week from now.

2 thoughts on “On Strategies and Goals

  1. krystal jane says:

    People underestimate sometimes how much they can accomplish with 1000 words a day. And who knows, some days you might even do a little more. 🙂 I’m trying to get some concrete goals set up. So far, my only goal has been to set some goals. Lol!

    Glad to see you back. ^_^

    • Patrick says:

      Thanks! It feels great to be back to it, even though it sometimes seems like summer sucks time away from writing. I’m not complaining though, not with the kinds of winters we get here in Vermont.

Leave a Reply

